Hem Skriv ut

Felix takes sixth in shortened Race 2

Zandvoort (the Netherlands) | Date: August 25th, 2012 | Weather: Dry/rain

By Mattias Persson

The second race of the Formula 3 weekend at Zandvoort turned into somewhat of a farce, with drivers completing only five laps after rain hit the Dutch venue and forced the event to be stopped and re-started.

The race began on a dry circuit, with Felix moving into sixth from eighth on the grid - a follow-up effect of his Race 1 win this morning - when Prema Powerteam colleagues Michael Lewis and Raffaele Marciello banged wheels in Turn 1.

Felix then applied intense pressure on Sven Müller on the opening lap - so much so that he almost ran into the back of the German over the crest at Scheivlak - but with heavy rain starting to fall just one tour later, the race was red-flagged on the grounds of safety.

In an unusual development, however, the clock was not stopped as the cars re-formed on the grid, which meant there was only time for three more laps - of which one was spent behind the safety car - before the chequered flag fell at the end of a race which certainly lived up to its status as a sprint event.

With no time to conduct any form of overtaking attempts, the order stood over the line with Felix duly taking sixth place.

The final race of the weekend - Race 3 - takes place at 11.15 local time tomorrow morning. Felix will start from third on the grid.  

"There really isn't much to say about this race; it was one of the shortest of my career. I made a so-so start but still managed to gain a couple of places thanks to the clash ahead of me in Turn 1, and then I just followed the guys in front of me to the chequered flag. I think there were some strange decisions made in this race and I would have loved to complete more laps at full speed, but this is how it is and we can now begin to prepare for Race 3 tomorrow."

Results (top five)
Download full results (pdf)

Pos Name Team Time
1 Will Buller Carlin-Volkswagen 5 laps


Daniel Juncadella Prema Powerteam-Mercedes


3 Pascal Wehrlein Mücke Motorsport-Mercedes +1.174s


Tom Blomqvist ma-con Motorsport-Volkswagen



Sven Müller

Prema Powerteam-Mercedes



Felix Rosenqvist  Mücke Motorsport-Mercedes


Denna webbplats hanteras av webbpubliceringssystemet Bluerange Easy. Läs gärna mer och testa själv på www.bluerange.se/easy