Hem Skriv ut

Heartbreak at Spielberg; penalty forces Felix to surrender Race 3 lead

Red Bull Ring (Austria) | Date: June 3rd, 2012 | Weather: Sunny and warm

By Mattias Persson

Felix was on course to his first win of the season as he consolidated his lead from pole position in the third and final race of the weekend at Spielberg, only to be dealt a major blow when the stewards awarded him a drive-through penalty for having jumped the start.

The decision sent Felix to the back of the field, and despite staging a categorical comeback – which included him posting the second-fastest lap of the race while in traffic – it all eventually came to nothing as he was held up dramatically by Andrea Roda and Lucas Wolf in the closing stages of the race.

Wolf was given a post-race 30-second time penalty for his driving antics as he closed the door on Felix on the penultimate lap, but it was of little value to the Mücke Motorsport man who still had to see himself classified in an everything but representative 11th place.

Before Felix pitted to take up his drive-through penalty, he had been pulling away from second-placed Daniel Juncadella by a couple of tenths per lap, with the Prema Powerteam driver eventually going on to win the race by a massive 15 seconds from Will Buller (Carlin).

The next round of the season takes place at the Norisring street circuit in Nuremberg, Germany, in four weeks’ time.

“I have no one to blame but myself for jumping the start. I wanted to win so much today, and the outcome of this race hurts even more because I was on target to achieve my goal of victory. I honestly think that we have been the fastest out there this weekend, and to go away from here with a ninth place as the best result is just terrible. I would lie if I said that I wasn’t disappointed, but we have to remember that we qualified on pole and were very, very competitive around here. That gives me some comfort, and we will simply have to strike back at full strength next time out.”

Results (top five)
Download complete results

Pos Name Team Time
1 Daniel Juncadella Prema Powerteam-Mercedes 26 laps


Will Buller Carlin-Volkswagen


3 Sven Müller Prema Powerteam-Mercedes +16.137s


Pascal Wehrlein Mücke Motorsport-Mercedes



Carlos Sainz Jr. Carlin-Volkswagen



Felix Rosenqvist Mücke Motorsport-Mercedes


Denna webbplats hanteras av webbpubliceringssystemet Bluerange Easy. Läs gärna mer och testa själv på www.bluerange.se/easy