Hem Skriv ut

Race 3 stopped as thunderstorm hits Nuremberg

Norisring (Germany) | Date: July 1st, 2012 | Weather: Thunderstorm

By Mattias Persson

The final Formula 3 Euro Series and FIA European F3 Championship race of the weekend at Norisring had to be stopped shortly before half distance, after torrential rain hit the Nuremberg venue and made visibility virtually non-existent.

The race started behind the safety car on a soaking track, and once the field was released for some real racing, it didn't take long until chaos struck. Pascal Wehrlein, Will Buller, Jack Harvey, Carlos Sainz Jr., Philip Ellis and Luis Derani were all among those to hit trouble (and walls), and after the safety car had been deployed for a second time when the rain intensified again a few laps later, event organisers eventually decided to bring out the red flags and stop the race with 21 out of the scheduled 48 laps completed.

Felix had made up several positions from 21st on the grid when he was hit by Lucas Wolf and lost a couple of places. Felix eventually ended up 14th overall, and eighth in the Formula 3 Euro Series and FIA European F3 Championship rankings once the British F3 contingent had been discounted.

With less than the stipulated 75 % of the race distance covered, half points will be awarded, with 12.5 for winner Raffaele Marciello and two for Felix.

"This was probably the craziest race I've ever driven. It really shouldn't have been started at all, and we were all lucky to get away unhurt today. The rain was incredible, and it was impossible to even go flat out on the straights. Having said that, I did have a good feeling in the car and was picking my way through the field when I was hit by Lucas. Things like that happen in these conditions, and he has apologised for the incident. You literally can't see anything in the spray behind the other cars, but overall I'm happy to have had three decent races this weekend and having scored a lot of points for the championship."

Results (top five)
Download full results (pdf)

Pos Name Team Time
1 Raffaele Marciello Prema Powerteam-Mercedes 21 laps


Daniel Juncadella Prema Powerteam-Mercedes


3 Felix Serralles Fortec-Mercedes +1.194s


Emil Bernstorff ma-con Motorsport-Volkswagen



Hannes van Asseldonk Fortec-Mercedes



Felix Rosenqvist Mücke Motorsport-Mercedes


Denna webbplats hanteras av webbpubliceringssystemet Bluerange Easy. Läs gärna mer och testa själv på www.bluerange.se/easy